Working Together: Experimental-Computational Collaborations

“Working Together: Experimental-Computational Collaborations” is the third session in ASCB’s “Connect and Discover: Data Science in Cell Imaging Virtual Meeting Series.” During this session, speakers will demonstrate how cell biologists and computer scientists can join forces and work together to tackle problems that go beyond the expertise of one lab. The session will also include tandem talks where the scientists will jointly present their collaborative work.


  • Brenda Andrews, University of Toronto
  • Guadenz Danuser, UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas
  • Romain Guiet, BioImaging and Optics Platform, EPFL
  • Sandra Schmid, Chan Zuckerberg Biohub


  • Assaf Zaritsky, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
  • Meghan Driscoll, University of Minnesota


Brenda Andrews is a University Professor and Canada Research Chair in Systems Genetics & Cell Biology in the Donnelly Centre for Cellular and Biomolecular Research and the Department of Molecular Genetics at the University of Toronto.  She has served as Chair of the Department of Medical Genetics (now Molecular Genetics, 1999-2004) and the Banting & Best Department of Medical Research (2004-2014) and was also the inaugural Director of the Donnelly Centre. She continued as Director of the Donnelly Centre and Charles H Best Chair of Medical Research until 2020.  Dr. Andrews’ current research interests include analysis of genetic interaction networks in budding yeast and mammalian cells, using high through-put genetics platforms that include high content microscopy for systematic analysis of cell biological phenotypes. Dr. Andrews is a Companion of the Order of Canada, an elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Academy of Microbiology, and an International Member of the National Academy of Sciences (USA).

Gaudenz Danuser is the founding chair of the Lyda Hill Department of Bioinformatics at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center (UTSW). He is also the Director the Cecil H. and Ida Green Center for Systems Biology, and he holds the Patrick E. Haggerty Distinguished Chair in Basic Biomedical Science and is a Scholar of the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT). Before moving to UTSW, Danuser led research laboratories at ETH Zurich (2002 – 2003), at The Scripps Research Institute (2003 – 2009), and at Harvard Medical School (2009 – 2014). His lab’s research is currently focused on understanding the roles shape regulation play in metastatic cell proliferation and survival, and drug resistance. To address these questions the lab develops innovative quantitative imaging methods to experimentally probe these processes and uses machine learning and tools from financial mathematics to compile the data in mechanistic models. He is a devoted teacher in areas of computational cell biology and AI both at the institutional and international level. He is a Fellow of AIMBE and ASCB.

Romain Guiet has been a part of the EPFL-BIOP team since 2011, following the completion of his Ph.D. in Biology. His role involves providing guidance and oversight for projects that utilize microscopy techniques and image quantification. With extensive expertise in in vitro cell culture and imaging, he assists users in developing effective staining strategies and optimizing experiment designs. More recently, he has prioritized the implementation of F.A.I.R principles, emphasizing best practices for data and code sharing.

Sandra Schmid’s highly collaborative laboratory at the Scripps Research Institute (1988-2012) and then UT Southwestern (2012-2020), applied cell and molecular biology, biochemistry, biophysics, structural biology, and quantitative live cell microscopy to define the molecular mechanisms underlying clathrin-mediated endocytosis; with particular focus on the paradigmatic fission GTPase, dynamin. Schmid’s work, published in over 170 articles and reviews, has been recognized by numerous awards, including her election to the National Academy of Sciences in 2020. She has held many leadership positions, including Chair of Cell Biology at Scripps (2001-2012) and UTSW (2012-2020); Founding Editor of Traffic and Editor-in-chief of MBoC (2004-2010) and President of the American Society for Cell Biology (2011). She currently serves as the inaugural Chief Scientific Officer of the Chan Zuckerberg Biohub-San Francisco, an independently funded biomedical research institute that partners with Stanford, UC San Francisco and Berkeley to understand the mechanisms underlying diseases and develop new technologies that can lead to actionable diagnostics and effective therapies.


Sponsor An ASCB Webinar
Sponsoring an ASCB Webinar is a great opportunity for your organization to get its message out in front of a highly engaged audience in the cell biology industry. Find out more about webinar sponsorships by emailing


Starts: July 9, 2024 11:00 am ET

Ends: July 9, 2024 12:30 pm ET

Cost: $0 for ASCB Members; $15 for Nonmembers