ASCB-Gibco Emerging Leader Prizes

About the Award

In 2015-2016 ASCB, in collaboration with Gibco, awarded three cash prizes ($3,000 each) to honor emerging leaders in science. This prize was for non-tenured faculty holding independent positions in the early phase of their career (in the first R01 renewal space or equivalent). This prize is no longer being offered.

Who is Eligible

Nominees for and recipients of ASCB honorific awards and prizes are expected to exemplify and to continue to exemplify the highest standards of professional conduct. Letters of support should explicitly address whether a nominee’s professional conduct over their career embodies the principles and expectations noted in ASCB’s Mission Statement, the Community Code of Conduct, the Honorific Code of Conduct and the Workforce Diversity Statement.

As a founder of the Declaration on Research Assessment (DORA, the ASCB does not use journal impact factors or other journal-based metrics in the evaluation process for its award candidates. The ASCB looks at an individual’s research contributions and impact on the field, rather than the prestige of the journals where work is published.

All Recent Awardee Photos

Award Winners

  • 2016 Winner—Antonina Roll-Mecak
  • 2016 Winner—Maria Barna
  • 2016 Winner—Nicolas Plachta
  • 2016 Finalist—Simon Alberti
  • 2016 Finalist—Don Fox
  • 2016 Finalist—Stephanie Gupton
  • 2016 Finalist—Ajit Joglekar
  • 2016 Finalist—Anthony Leung
  • 2016 Finalist—Amy Ralston
  • 2016 Finalist—Pere Roca-Cusachs
  • 2015 Winner—Clifford Brangwynne
  • 2015 Winner—Ahmet Yildiz
  • 2015 Winner—Meng Wang
  • 2015 Finalist—Nels Elde
  • 2015 Finalist—Melissa Gardner
  • 2015 Finalist—Dmitri Kudryashov
  • 2015 Finalist—Kelly Monk
  • 2015 Finalist—Guangshuo Ou
  • 2015 Finalist—Antonina Roll-Mecak
  • 2015 Finalist—Hari Shroff