E.B. Wilson Medal

About the Award

The E.B. Wilson Medal is presented to distinguished researchers for their far-reaching contributions to cell biology over a lifetime in science.

Award Details

In addition to the medal, the recipient will give the E.B. Wilson Lecture at Cell Bio 2023 - An ASCB|EMBO Meeting, a $1,000 stipend, and will receive complimentary meeting registration.

Who is Eligible

An individual who has demonstrated significant and far-reaching contributions to cell biology over a lifetime in science. Nominators and nominees must be ASCB members.

Selection Criteria

  • Candidate’s contributions to and impact on the field of cell biology
  • Candidate’s contributions to achieving additional areas of the ASCB mission
  • Candidate’s demonstrated commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion

How to Apply

Applications are closed for this year.

Nominees for and recipients of ASCB honorific awards and prizes are expected to exemplify and to continue to exemplify the highest standards of professional conduct. Letters of support should explicitly address whether a nominee’s professional conduct over their career embodies the principles and expectations noted in ASCB’s Mission Statement, the Community Code of Conduct, the Honorific Code of Conduct and the Workforce Diversity Statement.

As a founder of the Declaration on Research Assessment (DORA https://sfdora.org/), the ASCB does not use journal impact factors or other journal-based metrics in the evaluation process for its award candidates. The ASCB looks at an individual’s research contributions and impact on the field, rather than the prestige of the journals where work is published.

All Recent Awardee Photos

Award Winners

  • 2023—Tom Misteli
  • 2022—Donald Cleveland
  • 2021—Pietro De Camilli
  • 2020—Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz
  • 2019—Peter Devreotes
  • 2018—Barbara Meyer
  • 2017—Ulrich Hartl
  • 2017—Arthur Horwich
  • 2016—Mina Bissell
  • 2015—Elaine V. Fuchs
  • 2014—William. R. Brinkley, John E. Heuser, and Peter Satir
  • 2013—John R. Pringle
  • 2012—Susan L. Lindquist
  • 2011—Gary G. Borisy, J. Richard McIntosh, and James A. Spudich
  • 2010—Stuart Kornfeld, James Rothman, and Randy Schekman
  • 2009—Peter Walter
  • 2008—Martin Chalfie and Roger Tsien
  • 2007—Richard O. Hynes and Zena Werb
  • 2007—Joel Rosenbaum
  • 2005—Joan Steitz
  • 2004—Thomas Pollard
  • 2003—Marc Kirschner
  • 2002—Avram Hershko and Alexander Varshavsk
  • 2001—Elizabeth Blackburn
  • 2000—Walter Neupert and Gottfried Schatz
  • 1999—Edwin Taylor
  • 1998—James Darnell and Sheldon Penman
  • 1997—John C. Gerhart
  • 1996—Donald D. Brown
  • 1995—Bruce Nicklas
  • 1994—Barbara Gibbons and Ian Gibbons
  • 1993—Hans Ris
  • 1992—Shinya Inoue
  • 1991—S. Jonathan Singer
  • 1990—Morris Karnovsky
  • 1989—Christian de Duve
  • 1988—Elizabeth Hay
  • 1987—Marilyn Farquhar
  • 1986—Gunter Blobel and D. Sabatini
  • 1985—H. Swift
  • 1984—H. Eagle and T. Puck
  • 1983—Joseph Gall and H. Huxley
  • 1982—C. Leblond and A. Novikoff
  • 1981—Daniel Mazia, George Palade, and Keith Porter