Keith R. Porter Lecture

About the Award

This lecture, named in memory of Keith R. Porter, will be presented at Cell Bio 2024–An ASCB|EMBO Meeting by an outstanding and innovative leader at the forefront of cell biology, who is actively contributing fundamental new knowledge to our understanding of cell biology.

The recipient will receive a crystal award, complimentary meeting registration and abstract submission, as well as funding for travel, lodging, and meals.

Who is Eligible

This award is open to scientists of all nations, races, genders, ages, orientations, etc., as we affirm that diversity in thought, approach, and background is a central tenet in the free and open pursuit of science.

Selection Criteria

  • Candidate’s contributions to and impact on the field of cell biology
  • Candidate’s contributions to achieving additional areas of the ASCB mission
  • Candidate’s demonstrated commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion

How to Apply

Application deadline: Submissions are now closed for 2024.


Candidates may either self-apply or be nominated. If you are nominating another person please obtain all required documentation from the candidate prior to proceeding.

  1. A biosketch that follows the NIH (or similar format), no longer than 5 pages.
  2. A narrative statement of no more than 2 pages that focuses on the candidate’s research achievements as well as indicating their contributions to one or more other areas of ASCB’s mission: Advocating sound research policies, improving education, promoting professional development, or increasing diversity in the scientific workforce. The statement should be written by the candidate.
  3. Two letters of support, neither longer than 2 pages. At least one of the supporting letters must be from someone who is neither a collaborator, former trainee, nor mentor of the candidate; and who is at a different institution than the candidate.  The letters of support should explicitly address whether a nominee’s professional conduct over their career embodies the principles and expectations noted in the Community Code of Conduct and Honorific Code of Conduct.

Upload .pdf files, 1MB size limit per file.

Please Note

  1. ASCB wants to ensure that the pool of award candidates is as diverse and inclusive as possible. The demographic questions are for internal reporting only and are not viewable by award reviewers. The questions are not mandatory, however we would appreciate your responses so that we can assess our level of inclusivity.
  2. As a founder of the Declaration on Research Assessment (DORA) ASCB does not use journal impact factors or other journal-based metrics in the evaluation process for its awards. ASCB looks at an individual’s research contributions and impact on the field, rather than the prestige of the journals where work is published.

All Recent Awardee Photos

Award Winners

  • 2023—David G. Drubin
  • 2022—Juan Bonifacino
  • 2021—Rebecca W. Heald
  • 2020—Tony Hyman
  • 2019—Julie A. Theriot
  • 2018—Ruth Lehmann
  • 2017—Scott Emr
  • 2016—Eva Nogales
  • 2015—Jonathan S. Weissman
  • 2014—Michael P. Sheetz
  • 2013—Timothy J. Mitchison
  • 2012—Ari Helenius
  • 2011—Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz
  • 2010—Tom Rapoport
  • 2009—Ronald Vale
  • 2008—Joseph Gall
  • 2007—Lucille Shapiro
  • 2006—Joseph Schlessinger
  • 2005—Randy Schekman
  • 2004—Edward Salmon
  • 2003—Roger Tsien
  • 2002—Eric Wieschaus
  • 2001—Susan Lindquist
  • 2000—Joan Massague
  • 1999—Elizabeth Blackburn
  • 1998—James Spudich
  • 1997—Pietro DeCamilli
  • 1996—Elaine Fuchs
  • 1995—Leland Hartwell
  • 1994—James Darnell
  • 1993—Masatoshi Takeichi
  • 1992—Joan Steitz
  • 1991—Christiane Nusslein-Volhard
  • 1990—Kai Simons
  • 1989—Thomas Pollard
  • 1988—Marc Kirschner
  • 1987—Michael S. Brown and Joseph L. Goldstein
  • 1986—Gunter Blobel
  • 1985—John Heuser
  • 1984—David D. Sabatini
  • 1983—J. Richard McIntosh
  • 1982—Lewis G. Tilney