WICB Junior Award for Excellence in Research

About the Award

A woman or non-binary person in an early stage of their career (within seven years of appointment to an independent position at the nomination deadline) who is making exceptional scientific contributions to cell biology, is developing a strong independent research program and exhibits the potential for continuing at a high level of scientific endeavor and leadership.

Award Details

The winner receives a plaque, complimentary meeting registration and abstract submission, a $1,000 stipend, and gives a Minisymposium talk at Cell Bio 20232.

Who is Eligible

Candidates may be nominated more than once, and members of the WICB Committee are not eligible. Nominators, self-nominators and candidates must be ASCB members.

Selection Criteria

  • Candidate’s evidence of on-going strong research program (before or near tenure)
  • Candidate’s potential for continuing high level research
  • Candidate’s evidence of or potential for leadership
  • Candidate’s receiving this award impact on their career

How to Apply

Applications are closed for this year

Nominees for and recipients of ASCB honorific awards and prizes are expected to exemplify and to continue to exemplify the highest standards of professional conduct. Letters of support should explicitly address whether a nominee’s professional conduct over their career embodies the principles and expectations noted in ASCB’s Mission Statement, the Community Code of Conduct, the Honorific Code of Conduct and the Workforce Diversity Statement.

As a founder of the Declaration on Research Assessment (DORA https://sfdora.org/), the ASCB does not use journal impact factors or other journal-based metrics in the evaluation process for its award candidates. The ASCB looks at an individual’s research contributions and impact on the field, rather than the prestige of the journals where work is published.

All Recent Awardee Photos

Award Winners

  • 2023—Sonya Neal
  • 2022—Shirin Bahmanyar - Junior
  • 2021—Vaishnavi Ananthanarayanan - Junior
  • 2020—Prachee Avasthi - Junior
  • 2019—Sabine Petry - Junior
  • 2018—Sophie Dumont - Junior
  • 2017—Julie Canman - Junior
  • 2016—Barbara Mellone - Junior
  • 2015—Mihaela Serpe - Junior
  • 2014—Valentina Greco - Junior
  • 2013—Samara Reck-Peterson - Junior
  • 2012—Sophie G. Martin - Junior
  • 2011—Melissa May Rolls - Junior
  • 2010—Magdalena Bezanilla - Junior
  • 2009—Yukiko M. Yamashita - Junior
  • 2008—Coleen Murphy - Junior
  • 2007—Christine Jacobs-Wagner - Junior
  • 2006—Suzanne Eaton - Junior
  • 2006—Karen Oegema - Junior
  • 2005—Rebecca Heald - Junior
  • 2004—Inke Nathke - Junior
  • 2003—Claire Walczak - Junior
  • 2002—Clare Waterman-Storer - Junior
  • 2001—Laura Machesky - Junior
  • 2000—Linda Hicke - Junior
  • 1999—Yixian Zheng - Junior
  • 1998—Daphne Preuss - Junior
  • 1997—Lorraine Pillus - Junior
  • 1996—Sarah C. R. Elgin - Senior
  • 1996—Susan L. Forsburg - Junior
  • 1995—Trina Schroer - Junior
  • 1994—Julie Theriot - Junior
  • 1993—Cory Abate - Junior
  • 1992—Kathy Foltz - Junior
  • 1991—Alison Adams - Junior
  • 1991—Elizabeth Taparowsky - Junior
  • 1990—Sandra Schmid - Junior
  • 1989—Jeanne Lawrence - Junior
  • 1987—Vassie Ware - Junior
  • 1986—Mary Beckerle - Junior